Friday, May 17, 2013

Spirituality is an elusive concept.

How do biological, social, and cultural factors such as race, gender, and sexual orientation affect development and learning?

-Elizabeth J. Tisdell
The Spritual Dimension of Adult Development

Is faith the same as spirituality?

Fowler (1981) describes a six stage process of faith development.

1. Intuitive-projective faith
2. Mythic-literal faith
3. Conventional faith (conformist stage)
4. Individuative-reflective faith
5. Conjunctive faith
6. Universalizing faith

How do images and symbols help us construct knowledge and development? Do things such as art, music and creative works encourage development?

We unconsciously use images and symbols we see to construct knowledge while attempting to act within one's spiritual path.

Fowler, J. Stages of Faith: The Psychology of Human Development and the Quest for Meaning. San Francisco: HarperCollins, 1981.

No comments:

Post a Comment